"Awful maternity service"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

I had a terrible experience at this hospital- midwife rude when I first arrived at hospital saying I seemed 'down'- (I was 5cm and only had 2 paracetamol) then jokingly asking if I'd have anymore babies as if incinuating I couldn't tolerate the pain. I was then hooked to machine and baby was found to have abnormal heart rate- I was then ordered to lie on my left side for the entire labour. I was given an epidural that didn't work and not offered any further pain relief besides gas and air. I have since found out my baby was back to back ( I wasn't told this information- my sister overheard midwives talking). Toward the end of the labour I was pushing and baby's heart was stopping with every push. The newly qualified midwife I was allocated advised my mom to push the red alarm to call for help- no-one came. So my mom pressed it again- again no assistance came. My mom and sister were crying as they thought the worst. I then pushed and baby was born- thankfully alive. I was stitched up with gas and air-(stitches didn't work so I am still left with an horrendous tear) I was then completely deserted- my mom and sister had to clean the hospital room following the labour. The only person I saw after the birth was the person who comes round to take photos of the baby. Absolute horrified that I wasn't checked on. 5 hours after birth a man came and gave me a leaflet about epidurals - I told him I still had it in my back- following the unsuccessful epidural- they were appalled and even said they couldn't believe it. Couldn't wait to get home. Had no help re breast feeding whatsoever. Appalling hospital

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you, Leanne, for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience of our Maternity Services. We always aim to offer the highest standards of care and so we are very sorry that we fell short of those standards during your visit.

It is difficult to comment on your specific case without your details and reviewing your medical notes, but we would welcome the opportunity to look into the concerns you have raised and hopefully resolve some of these issues for you. If you would like us to do this, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful