"Non Emergency Transport"

About: Cheltenham General Hospital

The management of the Non Emergency Transport of Patients is not fir for use.

I was efficiently collected from home - albeit unnecessarily early for a mid day appointment which lasted approx 45mins. at the Hematology Department.

At 1315 the receptionist ordered transport to take me home.

This was followed up on at least three occasions and on each occasion they were told transport would arrive in 30 mins.

Transport eventually arrived at 1615 - 3hrs later.

I have a back injury and sitting on a waiting room chair is very uncomfortable at the moment.

The vehicle transporting me home to Lechlade was fitted with a GPS which was not working.

The 2 crew had little apparent knowledge of the surrounding topography and set off towards Cirencester rather than Oxford - to go via Burford.

I had to intervene to point out the inefficiency of routing via Cirencester.

This who;e episode was way below the standard one might reasonably expect and if it is commonplace, and indicative of the standard in other areas of the NHS, it is not surprising the NHS is costing the taxpayer so much.

This is a typical case of very poor management and control of staff rather than incompetent staff at the point of delivery.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience with the patient transport services. This service is provided by Arriva Transport and the contract is managed by Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group. We will pass the comments you have shared with us, to them. But we would also advise that you contact them directly so they can investigate your concerns further. You can contact them on 0800 0151 548 or 01452 566698.

Best wishes

The team at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful