"Atrocious"

About: Broomfield Hospital

This hospital is atrocious. I was admitted due to kidney stones and a sent was placed fuel to an infection. I was discharged with a piece of paper showing I would have to return at some point for further treatment no indication of dates. At discharge I was still passing vast quantities of blood in my urine. After querying this I was told it's usual and would stop

7 weeks later I am still passing blood.

I have since returned through a and e in agony told the urology team did not need to see me and basically sent away.

I then went to my gp who undertook a urine test as still contains vast quantities of blood.

gp referred me to the s.a.w the following day. On arrival I was made nill by mouth and had blood,urine and xrays 11 hours after arrival and made to sit in a corridor results were given to me. Everything was fine..... I was given painkillers that explicitly stated in the information. I could not use with kidney issues. Three days later my gp called to see how I got on with the infection?!? I told the gp I didn't have one. The gp advised the urine sample I had the day prior to s.a.w tests came back with infection. And needed antibiotics.

I have phoned urology waiting list numerous times over the last week's describing the agony I am still in 7 weeks later also that I am passing blood on every occasion. I have had one return call after the phone never being answered. Advising that they will let me know. Which I now believe means nothing. I have also left messages with the consultant. Who again didn't reply.

I am in agony still and have been left with no real information. My work life is effected. I don't strike. I hadn't had a day off ill in 9 years due to the avoidable pain I am in I have not been able to do a full week in 7.

#nocommunication

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Broomfield Hospital

I am very sorry for the experience you have had. I am happy to help if you email me directly jonathan.wright@meht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful