"Agree with the lady who visited 18th April"

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

I also had a terrible assessment time, I should have learned from that. Very painful and very traumatic

I used to have 1 pair of varifocals I now have 3:pairs:

1 pair from poundland (£1) for close work & reading

1 pair I have had to buy for single lens distance pair for driving (£100)

1 pair my original varifocals which I cover the lens of the operated eye so I can watch a 50 TV or it is blurred

I would never recommend the ophthalmic unit. This is a blight on the RVI as other units where I have been treated, the care has been excellent. That includes Plastics, orthopaedics and trauma. Family members have given excellent reviews of other units they have used.

So I am left with my sight far worse than it was before

For me its an NHS lens and they can have it back and my views on the staff are unprintable

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our Ophthalmology services, at the RVI. We would firstly like to apologies for the experience you have had, we are very concerned with the details of events you have provided and we would like to investigate this further, however due to the anonymity of the feedback we are unable to comment. If you would be willing to contact Margaret Gray, the Directorate Manager on 0191 2820954 to discuss further, provide some more details on the events and we can look into this for you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful