"Failure to respond by PALS and complaints team...."

About: Frimley Park Hospital (Frimley)

I contacted PALS on behalf of a friend who was unwell and who had their appointment in the emergency gastroenterology clinic cancelled without discussion or being given a reason. They needed to be seen by specialist and appointment brought forward.

Unable to make contact with secretary and the call was not diverted to another but went to voicemail.

Not helpful. I then contacted PALS but went to voicemail also.

I then contacted operator and was put through to complaints. I explained the situation and was reassured that I would recive a call back within the hour.

This did not happen.

Disgusting, worrying that them customer services team have failed on this occasion.

I would like to know why the Trust thinks that this is acceptable and await your response.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Frimley Park Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I'm sorry to read that you hadn't been able to make contact easily with the teams. If there are members of the public in the PALS office already then it is not possible for the team to always be able to answer the telephone.

I understand you have since spoken to the PALS service. I am unsure why you were told an hour response would be provided as all contacts are prioritised and responded to accordingly, aiming for a maximum of 24 hours. One of the PALS team has subsequently visited your friend on the ward and apologised for the cancellation.

An investigation is underway to understand why the appointment has been cancelled.

Thank you for raising your concerns

Kind Regards

Claire Marshall

Head of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful