"Concerns about my mum's care on ward 404"

About: Royal Derby Hospital / Respiratory medicine

(as a relative),

In Jan my mum came to the hospital with pneumonia. It took her ages for her to be seen. She had an x-ray, they then took her onto the ward. She was given antibiotics by drip.

4 days later, she was discharged. She was given no x-ray to see if chest infection had gone and no more antibiotics.

3 days later she was in again this time with double pneumonia. At that time she was sitting in a chair, but by that weekend a Dr called and said the infection is in her kidneys. We went in to talk to him, but he wasn't very caring. He refused to explain why they sent her home, then told us about the no resuscitation they will give her. He said he would keep her on antibiotics for as long as possible. He told us she had now got aspiration pneumonia and was nil by mouth.

It took them about a week to put her on a dip feed. She lost weight and they moved her to a side room. They said she had no chance of living. Then things got worse. It took 2 attempts to put a feed pipe down her. Her last week of life was awful. We had to tell a nurse 4 times to get a water drip. They didn't seem to bother with my mum, once they put her in a side room.

The night before her death, we noted her blood pressure had not been taken, or her temperature for hours. We told them about this, but they seemed more interested in chatting than helping my mum. When we got home, we rang in and they told us she was comfortable. We went to bed and rang next morning to see if she was ok. They went to see her as she said not to worry about her she was ok.

I went to visit her about 9.30. When I got to her room, there was no response when I called out to her. So I went to fetch a nurse. Then I said there is something wrong with my mum. They came out of her room and said she as passed away. They left her to die on her own! I was so shocked and upset at the lack of care the staff showed her.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Umar Zamman, Head of Complaints, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Good Afternoon

Thank for you sharing your experience with us and may I also take this opportunity to offer you and your family my sincere condolences.

We would be happy to investigate this matter further for you and your family and if this is something you would like to pursue, please contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 783 7691 quoting 31485. In the meantime, I have shared your account with the Senior Sister and Matron for Ward 404.

Kind Regards,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by flowergirl 343 (a relative)

I still think the lack of care was to blame it was not 3 days it was 3 weeks she was out before she went back in. In my opinion, too many nurses talking not caring and it takes too long when you buzz them to come to the bed. That's why we used to fetch them to my mum. I feel that 404 wants a good shake up. Too many stars on wall in day room not deserved in my view and from my experience.

Response from Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Good afternoon,

May we firstly offer our apologies for not responding to your further response regarding this matter when you contacted Patient Opinion again in March 2016. This was an oversight on our part.

As we advised when you first contacted Patient Opinion, if you wish to discuss this matter further, please call the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) team on FREEPHONE 0800 783 7691 quoting reference: 31485.

Kind regards

The PALS Team