"Appalled my treatment here"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

I was referred here from the walk in centre. I was feeling incredibly sick.

My symptoms were bleeding in the urine, migraines, headaches, feeling dizzy, with blurred vision, being sick, pain in my back and kidney area. The walk in centre wrote up loads of info about my condition. Like the amount of blood in my urine and all my other symptoms.

I turned up at the hospital. The doctor was in the middle of examining me when a consultant/ or doctor came in the room. Introduced themselves and asked if I worked at the hospital which I said no, I don't see what the point in the question was. Do hospital staff get better treatment?

The doctor then said they were going to give me some antibiotics and send me home, the other doctor mentioned my severe urine bleeding and the doctor asked me if I could see blood in my urine. I told them yes and by then I was annoyed the doctor tried to diagnose me without reading my notes.

My blood in fact was so bad in my urine that it looks like I've slit a pigs throat and caught a cup of blood. It doesn't even look like there is urine mixed in there.

The doctor/consultant then went out the room to read my notes. The doctor came back 5 mins later and said yes you just have a kidney infection I'm sending you home with antibiotics. The doctor said take antibiotics and paracetamol 4 times a day. The doctor said the trouble with patients is they don't take paracetamol 4 times a day.

They wait till the pain returns then take pills but by then it's too late. This annoyed me as the doctor hadn't even questioned what paracetamol I had been taking or not taking, they just assumed.

I was feeling terrible and certainly not in the mood to argue.

The doctor then said they were discharging me and to go back in on Monday if not better. Then the doctor did ask do you wasn't to stay or be discharged but by then the doctor had already told me twice that they wanted to discharge me and I didn't want to stay if I was not wanted there. The doctor also told me I don't look ill so I'm better off going home. I didn't realise in all the years of training enables doctors to diagnose without tests. They can just look into someone's eyes and see how sick they are. I should remember to roll around the floor screaming in pain to be taken seriously.

I got my antibiotics and a nurse asked if I was feeling ok and I replied no. The nurse asked if I wanted to stay but I said under no circumstances would I stay there after what the doctor said.

I told the nurse I'd go see my gp on Monday and ask to be referred to Preston hospital rather than Blackpool.

I have no gripes with the original doctor or the nurses as they all treated me great. The original doctor had already started to carry out tests until the doctor/consultant came in and tried to discharge me before even reading my notes.

I'm now laid in bed with a headache. I'm having dizzy spells , I took some paracetamol and an antibiotic but threw up 15 minutes later so doubt they are going to make me feel better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Andrew Heath, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Carole

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience. I hope that you are now starting to feel better.

I would like to apologise that you did not receive the care and treatment that you expected and that you were discharged without feeling that you had received the appropriate level of treatment.

If you would like to contact the Patient Relations team directly by email so that we can get further details about what happened and ensure that your concerns are fully investigated, please contact them on patient.relations@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk

Thank you once again for leaving feedback and taking the time to comment on your recent experience.

Yours faithfully,

Andrew Heath

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful