"Awful appointment with gastroenterologist"

About: Ayr Hospital / Gastroenterology

(as the patient),

My appointment with the gastroenterologist was absolutely terrible. I’ve been having lots of pain and sickness but was not believed, the doctor was very rushed, I appreciate he had other people to see but did not appear to be prepared to give me the time I needed to explain my symptoms and how I was feeling, how it condition was affecting my life. He just said he could not wave a magic wand and make it all better.

In desperation I went to A&E this morning but was told they could not do anything.

I waited three months for an appointment but am no further forward.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Smaller728,

I am really sorry to hear you feel your consultation was so unhelpful and you were not given enough time to explain your symptoms. It is not the care we expect from the service, busy or not. If you contact me I will try to help, there are a few things I think we can do.

If you wish to let me know your name and date of birth, we can look into this for you. If you do want to contact me, you can email me on eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk or phone me on 01563 826222.

Best wishes,

Eunice

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Smaller728,

It is entirely your choice whether to contact me or not and it is absolutely fine that you have chosen not to do so. It means that there is probably not much I can do to help other than to suggest that if you wish, you can ask your GP to refer you for a second opinion.

Your story has been shared with the team for their reflection. Thank you again for contacting us, It is always helpful for us to get an opportunity to review our practice and so we can continue our learning.

Once again, I am sorry you didn’t find this visit satisfactory.

Best wishes,

Eunice

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful