"My nephew was neglected"

About: Castle Hill Hospital / Infectious diseases

(as a relative),

My nephew was admitted to the Infectious disease ward at Castlehill Hospital. At first he was able to press the buzzer for attention but it was ignored, I was there to witness it so I know it to be true.

He deteriorated rapidly and I often saw him left in a urine soaked bed. My daughter who is a nurse her self complained and was told it would never happen again. My nephew told me it did 3 more times.

3 days before he died I went with my sister and brother in law to visit my nephew at 6.30pm where he was lying on a bed in a room with the nurses station in view. It was opposite so they could keep an eye on him. But I feel that they didn’t whilst I was there.

The door was closed not propped open like I think it should have been. My sister had changed his bed earlier in the morning with his partner because she had a final meeting with his doctor and had popped in to see my nephew before she left. She told me he again was lying in his own urine and that was the reason they changed the bed. The bag with the bedclothes was still on the floor where she had left it because a nurse had told her it would be moved.

My brother in law told me to get the nurse because my nephew was soaked and I mean soaked in his own urine. He was wearing a light grey t-shirt and it was dark because it was wet where the urine had seeped through it. The bed sheet was very very wet, he hadn’t only urinated once and it was obvious to me he had been left, neglected.

I asked the nurse when had she looked at my nephew, we were told he was supposed to have been checked every 15 mins.

I was told that was the norm for the care of the dying pathway. I don’t think that applied to my nephew whilst I was there.

It was very upsetting to see him like that; my sister was very upset that her son who was slowly dying and seemed to be neglected by the people who were caring for him.

I would never ever want anyone else to have the treatment my nephew had, that is why I have decided to send my story.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Engagement Section Assistant, NHS Hull

Dear lionlover Thank you for posting your comments on the Patient Opinion website. We are very sorry to hear of the circumstances surrounding your nephew’s care at Castle Hill Hospital. We have passed on your concerns to Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals Trust in order that your comments can be investigated and responded to. However, I know that the Trust would prefer to speak to you or your family members direct to gain more information and enable the investigation to be as thorough as possible. If you are willing to do this please contact their Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 01482 623065 or by email. The PALS team will be more than happy to arrange a meeting or simply talk to you about the concerns you have raised. NHS Hull is the organisation responsible for deciding how money is spent on local health services [also known as commissioning], ensuring those services are of high quality and meet local needs. We will make our Commissioning Department aware of the concerns you have raised and this will feed into our monitoring of the hospital services. We also value all feedback and if you would like to discuss this matter further with us as the commissioners please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 01482 335409 or by email If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, all local health Trusts are recruiting ‘members’. By becoming a member you can receive advice on keeping yourself and your family healthy, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member, you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as little or as much as you choose. For more information please either by emailor telephone 01482 675165. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local services.
  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful