"Abandoned operation"

My wife was admitted for surgery on the discs on her spine and decompression of nerves, and after been taken to the operating theatre after been been prepared for surgery and put to sleep, the surgeon was not satisfied with the quality of the images from the the x ray machine that they were going to use to perform this intricate procedure.

The surgeon had no option but to abandon the operation because correctly as the surgeon stated, the safety of their patient is paramount. My wife was taken back to recovery where the surgeon explained what had happened and she was then taken back to her room,My wife is now going to have to wait in extreme pain and go through all the trauma of waiting for the operation to be rescheduled to another hospital with a more powerful x ray machine.This abandonment has cost us a lot of money as we had to travel 40 miles each way from home and i had booked into a B&B nearby for 4 nights so i could be with my wife for the 4 anticipated night stay at the hospital,the cost at the B&B had to be paid in advance and was not refundable. On top of this we had put our dog into kennels. My complaint is that the hospitals x ray equipment is not up to the job and this needs to be reviewed as a matter of urgency to prevent other patients suffering the same distress and disappointment

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham Woodthorpe Hospital

Dear Relative,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on NHS Choices, all of the staff here at Woodthorpe Hospital do their very upmost to ensure all our patients receive great care and treatment and I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

I did personally meet your wife’s Consultant, Mr Howarth, on the day of the procedure to discuss why the operation needed to be cancelled and rescheduled for a future date. Mr Howarth I believe did personally speak with family members to explain the reasons for this. Mr Howarth advised me that he has not known such a case during his Consultant career and the circumstances were unique and unforeseen and it was however in the patients best interest and safety not to proceed of which I am fully supportive of.

I will be managing your comments and feedback as a formal complaint and will write to the patient in due course to apologise further and explain in more detail the sequence of events.

Kind Regards

Mark Lacey

General Manager

Tel 07595987401

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful