"Two years waiting for dental care"

About: NHS Western Isles

(as the patient),

After 2 years on the waiting list for dental care, I contacted the local NHS. 7 emails have not been replied to over 2 months. I have tried to complain, but was met with the response: 'What do you mean by complaint'?

This is a surreal world. I feel that the administration seem to use any tactic in order to block criticism.

I managed to get through on the phone to the 'dental business development manager,' who blamed everyone and everything on the lack of dental care. He even said that it was much much worse elsewhere and that if I wanted a checkup I should go via my GP and claim that my mental health was bad and leading to feelings of suicide.

No one seems able to accept responsibility, offer advice, find solutions or help in any way.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Denise Symington, PFPI Development Officer, NHS Western Isles We have made a change

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post these comments.

We are very sorry to hear about your experience of Dental Care in the Western Isles.

Within the last year we have opened a new Dental Teach and Treat Centre and we anticipate this will alleviate the issues you have highlighted.

In response to issues you have raised, we would encourage the use of our complaints procedure this can be done by contacting the Complaints Officer at the Health Board Offices in South Beach Street, Stornoway, 01851 702 997.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful