"ENT update: Still no operation!"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Going on for 3 years now and still no operation from the ENT department. I've been given Elective Treatment appointments about 5 times (each one with a pass, and I've just been sent another one...) but still nothing.

What an awful experience and to make matters worse the secretary of that department nevers answers the phone so its impossible to know where, if at all, I am on the waiting list.

The department and consultant in charge should ashamed of themselves making money from taxpayers without fulfilling their responsibilities.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We are very sorry to have received your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your experiences contacting the ENT department and your prolonged wait for surgery. Please accept our apologies for the frustration and distress this has obviously caused you and our assurance that this is not the quality service we aim to provide.

It is very difficult to be able to investigate the reasons for this delay and offer an informed response to the specific concerns that you have raised without having your details to enable us to investigate these matters further. We take all issues surrounding patient experience very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be able to discuss this with you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful