"Very unimpressed"

About: Princess Royal Hospital (Haywards Heath)

I came to the A&E department following being quite unwell over the last few days, visiting A&E was my last resort as I had already been in contact with 111 and been to visit my GP. I was made to feel like I shouldn't have been there and that my problems couldn't be dealt with, which I was very surprised at as I described how I'd been feeling and what symptoms I had been experiencing, I wasn't examined which I felt I should've been due to the pains I had been experiencing! I think doctor was very unhelpful and didn't really care for my health at all. I as an NHS professional wouldn't have gone to A&E if I didn't feel it necessary, and all I was offered was antibiotics and told to take pain relief! I believe this is why people are so hesitant to see their GPs and go to A&E departments as they are made to feel like they are wasting professionals time! I'm very disappointment in the 'care' I received and will not be visiting this A&E department again unless it's a life or death situation! I don't agree that unless you are brought in my ambulance it's not an emergency, you cannot make a judgement on someone's Heath by taking one inital look at them, I think that is completely wrong and isn't how the NHS professionals should operate.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Royal Hospital

I am sorry that your experience of A&E was such a negative one and that you feel you were not adequately assessed.

It is not acceptable that you were made to feel that you did not matter and the doctors priorities in an A&E department will always be for those who have had an accident or have an acute life threatening illness.

If you would like to discuss your experience further myself or Karen, the matron for A&E would be happy to do so.

Best wishes

Caroline Davies

Deputy Chief Nurse


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful