"Concerns about midwife referral"

About: Royal Alexandra Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

I went to my first midwifed appointment very excited I couldn't wait to get involved it just made everything more real and exciting. As this is my first child you can imagine the grin I had on my face and how proud I felt.

I went in and we started with the filling out of the paperwork then the long list of questions the midwife would ask. As you would Imagine I answered every question with a great eagerness I just wanted to make sure everything was accurate so my child would be in a position where the pregnancy could move along with out any complications and we could have a safe and carefree happy pregnancy.

Whilst in at my first appointment I said to the midwife that I wanted to breastfeed she just looked at me and said "well we can discuss that when your further along" me and my partner were shocked as in a country where far and few want to breastfeed and the NHS is continuously promoting this you would think the midwife would be really happy and full of praise.

I suffer from relapse remitting multiple sclerosis and I have some mental health problems my anxiety is the worst and I suffered from depression as a teenager. The midwife referred me to the special needs in pregnancy service I was quite taken aback as I am perfectly sane which my doctor can confirm and my mobility is not that of special needs as my ms nurse has also confirmed after a lengthy phone call. There were also lies in my notes.  The midwife put yes on the question that stated if the patient was in or is currently leaving residential care, I live in a flat in a quiet area with my partner and my cat!

Then I met the second midwife I would see after my scan this was my dating scan. I was told I was 14 weeks 2 days, I was taken to a room and asked a series of questions which I answered honestly and openly this is the part that just disgusts me, she referred me to social services the snips team even though I was already referred and mental health services.

After a visit from the social worker she said everything was good and positive in my life I eat well keep fit and healthy I don't smoke or drink or take drugs and me and my partner have a stable relationship and beautiful home. After some thinking I decided to ask why this was happening at first the social worker said it was for support then she informed me it was for the child's safety I asked on what grounds did she refer me and the social worker stated because I am involved with mental health services! The thing is I am not! this is a complete fabricated story and I have all the letters and evidence to prove this. What I find most absurd about this is she stated I was involved with mental health services but then I got a letter from the midwife referring me to mental health services! I have gone through my pregnancy notes and found more lies.

In pregnancy we have our dating scan this is usually around twelve weeks then we have an anomaly scan at 18 to 20 weeks to check development, it states that I had my anomaly scan when I had my dating scan so they are skipping scans and ignoring procedure. It has also made me question what else have they wrote about me. I got an ambulance called out as I was experiencing palpitations, sensitivity to light and high blood pressure this was down to the stress all of this is putting on me. When the paramedic came up he said so I see you have a history of drug and alcohol abuse! This has never been said to me before so it has to have been that same midwife fabricating lies.

I was so happy being pregnant and now I just feel harassed for no reason and miserable. This midwife who has lied about me and referred me to social work has really affected my pregnancy I'm stressed find it hard to sleep have lost my appetite and can't focus on anything.

 am in the process of being re referred to another hospital by my doctor and will be taking this the full way I will be putting in a formal complaint. My pregnancy bubble has been burst. This should be the happiest time of my life instead it is one of the most stressful and upsetting. Not very good for an unborn child.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Knj,

You have written in great detail about so many aspects of the care you have had so far in your pregnancy and you have said how anxious you are feeling at this point.

You obviously still have a wee while to go in your pregnancy and we would like this to be a much more positive experience for you going forward. I've spoken with the Lead Midwife for the Royal Alexandra Hospital who is very keen to meet with you to talk through any concerns you have and find ways to address these. If you could contact me directly on lorna.gray@ggc.scot.nhs.uk, I can help get this set up for you.

I hope to hear from you soon and wish you all the best in the meantime.


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story