"Cancelled operation"

About: Royal Preston Hospital

The urgent operation required to treat bowel cancer has been twice cancelled on the day of the operation due to a lack of beds. No one was available to talk to, an email address given to make a complaint malfunctions and mail is bounced back. Patient is still waiting to hear when the operation may take place. Unacceptable delay. Totally unacceptable lack of communication.

I enter this on behalf of my cousin, the patient, who is disabled, has learning difficulties and no access to the internet.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Preston Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We were sorry to read your comments and would be happy to discuss the issues you have raised in more detail and to liaise with the Surgical team on your cousin's behalf.

If you would be happy to do so, can we ask you to please contact our PALS team on 01772 522972 or pals-preston@lthtr.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Rhona Hartley, Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your cousin's experience under the care of the Surgical teams here at Royal Preston Hospital. We are sorry to hear that the patient's surgery has been cancelled again; could we ask that you consider contacting the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01772 522972 or pals-preston@lthtr.nhs.uk who will try to obtain information on the patient's behalf.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful