"Children's A&E"

About: Croydon University Hospital

The department was a disgrace!

Far too hot.

A child with suspected meningitis was very stressed and in the same room as the other children.

This caused a great deal of upset for the other young patients.

. Hospitals can be very scary places for young children and everything should be done to aleviate this.

Vomit left on the floor and not cleaned up until mentioned!

We deserve and expect better.

To top it all we even had to pay in the car park for the privilege during the night.

A total rip off.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience in our children’s A&E at what was clearly a worrying and uncomfortable time for you and a number of families. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

We are currently building a brand new Accident and Emergency Department at Croydon University Hospital, which will include a dedicated children’s department, with its own waiting area and play room.

However, this will not open until 2017.

In the meantime, we are continuing to provide A&E services in temporary facilities at the hospital.

We are working to fix the temperature control issue within the A&E department as quickly as possible and I am sorry that this added to your discomfort and anxiety. It is also disappointing to learn that our usual cleaning standards were not maintained during your visit, as our cleaners normally work very hard to keep our hospital clean.

Your concerns about the department have been raised with the service's senior managers but if you would like to contact us direct, our PALS team can be contacted on 020 8401 3210 or at ch-tr.pals@nhs.net

KInd regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful