"Very disappointed"

About: Newham General Hospital

My wife decided to give a birth in Newham oHospital becouse is close to the place we leave.

I am her husband and I would like to raise few things.

First of all. Night shift midwife instead of supporting my wife while in labour decided to blame her, they kept saying that - you do it on your own responsibility (this happened when she want to go to rest room. No support or explanation )

As soon when doctor arrived he examin her and realized that machonium. When asked question who check this? And no one answer. He start to look for the tools, but the tools not in the room. Midwife dissappeared for about 15 minutes

Since realized machonium still takes more than 30 minutes to take our baby out.

Finally when he take the baby out he wasn't breathing. Reanimated for about 10-15 minutes.

Expecting brain damaged, machonium in the chest and infection.

My wife also had infection, loss of blood 2.5 liters and end up with blood pressure 70 to 20, litre , and that all becouse she squized herself tube with the fluids when was pushing, that's what midwife said to me.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

We are very sorry to read of yours and your wife’s experience during her labour. We would like to look into the concerns you have raised here and ask that you contact us to discuss this in more detail. Please contact out PALS Team on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk to provide us with more information so that we are able to do this.

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful