"very very slow sending appointment out"

About: Chapel Allerton Hospital

I had a knee problem so had a appointment with a Consultant. I was told i would be sent a mri appointment. I waited 3 months still no appointment so rang. I was told a letter was sent out but id not received it. So i asked for another appointment and asked for my appointment to be made over the phone which was agreed. I waited another 4 weeks still no call. So called back to complain to which I was told a letter had been sent out. 4 weeks later my appointment finally came through. Had the mri scan and was told that I would hear from my specialist in 7-10 days 4 weeks later still nothing so I called again to be told they had forgotten to rebook me in? I'm a self employed person who is having to turn work down due to mobility problems I'm fed up of being messed around I just want my knee sorting and still not had my appointment with the specialist

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear James

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read of the poor communication you have had from our hospital. The level of service and communication that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

I would be very grateful if you could discuss this matter with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see if there are any lessons that we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Kind Regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience