"Lack of customer care"

About: Whipps Cross University Hospital

I recently sadly had a miscarriage and had to visit Whipps Cross when I was pregnant and during and following my miscarriage and thought I would provide some feedback. From what I have read the maternity care needs to be improved, this is something that I would agree with.

Personally, the main improvement needs to focus on staff attitude towards patients. Some of them showed lack of empathy and consideration. For example, I had to cancel my scheduled maternity appointments and return my maternity notes to the receptionist following my miscarriage which was difficult enough, I asked the receptionist what I should do with the notes and she replied "well you obviously won't be needing them". This was only around 9am in the morning so it's not she had had a busy day.

My experience in the early pregnancy scan centre was mixed. The area is very clean and my first sonographer was brilliant, friendly and reassuring. The second sonographer on a different visit was abrupt and did not seem interested and my third sonographer following my miscarriage (who appears to be a trainee) poked me around like I'm a guinea pig even though I was clearly in tears without saying anything to me to reassure me.

I hope the Trust take on board these constructive feedback. I understand the NHS is understaffed etc but it really does not help with some of the attitude amongst the staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Whipps Cross University Hospital

We are very sorry to read of your miscarriage. This must have been a very difficult time for you.

It is upsetting to hear that you were addressed by our receptionist in this way. Please accept our apologise for this.

We would like to look into all of the concerns you have raised here so that we are able to identify any areas where our staff may need extra training and to make improvements to the service we provide. To do this we would need you to provide us with more detailed information about your care. Please contact Deborah Twyman, Senior Midwifery Manager direct on Deborah.Twyman@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. This has been passed onto the maternity team to make changes where necessary.

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful