"The staff were all so pleasant ..."

About: University Hospital Of Hartlepool

(as the patient),

What I liked

The staff were all so pleasant and helpful. They treated everyone as individuals and were very up beat. The overall impression was that I could trust them to look after me.

They made sure I was not in pain and explained all procedures. The admissions staff were so helpful and the staff who served drinks were great. Doctors who visited were also very sympathetic. Even though some staff were over from North Tees short term they worked really well together.

I think I had excellent care and they deserve congratulations on providing an excellent sevice.

What could be improved

The trip down to theatre. The theatre lift was not working and I was taken through the hospital past visitors. Even though on a trolley it seemed odd to be mixing with visitors.

Anything else?

A long wait for discharge due to having to wait for drugs from the pharmacy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of Hartlepool

Dear Alitastic – Thank you for your comments. We’re pleased that you had a good experience as a patient at the University Hospital of Hartlepool. We’re sorry the theatre lift was not working and that you had to be taken to theatre in the visitor lift. We try to keep all our lifts in working order and we’re sorry to have let you down on this occasion. The new hospital we’re planning has separate lifts for patients and visitors at different parts of the hospital so we can avoid the situation you unfortunately found yourself in. We’re also sorry about the wait you had while waiting for your drugs from pharmacy. We are working hard to improve this for patients in future. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your comments on NHS Choices.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful