"The urgency which was created ..."

About: University Hospital Of Hartlepool

(as the patient),

What I liked

The urgency which was created for my case, the referral to the RVI at Newcastle and then the follow up care back at Hartlepool. The communication and care, consideration to my particular needs.

What could be improved

The policing of the public and patience smoking outside the main entrance, it is simply not enforced enough and I find this terrible when you have to walk passed it and get a lung full of second hand smoke.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of Hartlepool

We're pleased you were very happy with the service you received when you were a patient at the University Hospital of Hartlepool. We do try our best to ensure we give our patients the very best care possible and we will certainly pass your very kind comments on.

We share your concerns about people smoking outside the entrance to the hospital and we agree that it is unacceptable for people to have to walk through this when entering or leaving the hospital. Despite massive efforts on our part we haven not been able to totally address the situation and we have, reluctantly, put up smoking shelters and asked smokers to use them instead of congregating by the door. Please rest assured we will continue to ask people to stop smoking by the doors or ask them to move. We are as keen to resolve this as you are.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on NHS Choices.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful