"My experience was not a good one"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital / General medicine

(as the patient),

Recently admitted to ward 38 for a week. I was admitted with a neutropenic sepsis and nursed in a side room. This experience was not a good one and at times made me ashamed to work for the NHS.

On admission to the ward I was not seen by any staff for 2 1/2 hours until I had a rigor and my family went to find a Nurse. I then had my observations taken ( BP and pulse). A Doctor reviewed me and told me my temperature was fine and I pointed out that it had not been taken. The Nurse had recorded it when it had not been taken.

Whilst I was in I required daily bloods and on several occasions the Phlebotomist missed me out and I was told that they only had a set amount of time on the ward. I felt very isolated as staff rarely came into my room. The only people who introduced themselves were Doctors.

Upon discharge I noticed the "Proud" board regarding patient focused care and have to say that is not what I experienced. The food was extremely poor and everything came with mashed potato. 6 months previously I was admitted to a different ward at the same hospital and had a much more positive experience. The only positive was the Ward Medical team and the Renal Team who were excellent.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had on Ward 38 at Arrowe Park Hospital, although we are grateful for your positive feedback about the medical team and the renal team. We are committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right.

We have recorded your comments about the Ward 38 and shared your experience with senior management for the department. We record and monitor all feedback, positive and negative, about the experiences our patients have.

We want to investigate your concerns in detail. If you would like us to do so, please ring the Patient Relations team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to Patient Relations team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Patient Relations team can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful