"Appalling receptionist on visit 1 September..."

About: Whipps Cross University Hospital

My first visit to the Plane tree Centre and I have rated my treatment and the care and professionalism of the staff really highly.

However, the receptionist did not speak to me when I handed them my appointment letter.

They looked at it and then waved their hand in the general seating area.

I queried whether they wanted me to wait over there and I was given another hand gesture for the general direction.

This receptionist did not look at me and I was not even treated to a grunt.

Subsequently I noticed that two or three patients approached them again from the seating area with queries, they appeared thoroughly confused with what to do.

To reiterate, this was my first visit but I am able to hear well and am capable of asking questions but this was an awful introduction to your excellent facility.

I mentioned my experience to a friend this morning and she immediately described the same receptionist that she had complained about several months ago. They themselves have complained in the past.

I would hope that some action by way of training and/or warning is made.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Whipps Cross University Hospital

Dear Monica

Firstly, thank you for awarding the Pain Management Service with five stars. The team will be happy to hear your kind words.

We are sorry to hear of the experience you encountered with the receptionist when you booked in for your appointment. This is not acceptable behaviour as all patients should be greeted in a friendly, professional manor.

Your feedback has been shared with the team at the Centre so that, as you mentioned, they can identify any areas that staff may need extra support or training.

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful