"Disappointment at services offered"

About: West London Mental Health NHS Trust

(as the patient),

I am writing to inform you of my sheer disappointment of the so called services you appear to say you provide. I was referred to the Hounslow Home Treatment Team (HHTT) after an A&E visit in August. Your staff are of course polite and helpful but they have not been able to offer me any real help. For example:

- Medication review – they observed my dosage – made one recommendation but would not adjust my meds - so this isn’t a meds review – more a meds observation. I was told by my initial HHTT carer that meds could possibly be adjusted – not at all true.

- I’m alcohol dependent – 1x bottle of wine a night (not the worst case you’d agree). I stated that in the past my psychiatrist prescribed Xanax to overcome alcohol withdrawal and that I wanted to try this method once more. I was told of the withdrawal symptoms of coming of a benzodiazepine (which I already know and have dealt with with ease in the past). The HHTT physiatrist was not / could not prescribe this – instead I was told to reach out to some clinic in Hounslow called ‘I hear’. Tried to call them – nothing – no one answered. I was hoping you organisation had some continuity I. e. sorting this out for me but alas and very disappoint no.

- General: I was given silly talk about reducing my drink one glass at a time per week – please I know this already. I was told drink disturbs sleep! I was told my Bi-Polar could be passed on to my children (hereditary). This I know and how can this make me feel better? More importantly mental illness is more often than not passed on via gene expression i. e. children’s mental biochemistry in an awful prolonged situation of abuse (in my case) can change – good/healthy environments for children can greatly lesson the possibility of hereditary mental illness.

I now feel after my most recent visit completely let down, abandoned and lost – your team appear to be bean counters / box tickers - they cannot really help anyone in a pragmatic manner – I’m back to square one – afraid, confused, and unstable.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Janet Bell, Head of Governance, West London Mental Health NHS Trust

Dear Me most of the time, thank you for sharing your story on Patient Opinion.

You have raised some concerning but important points.

Thank you for your positive comments re the staff, however, as you feel that they were unable to help I am going to ask my colleagues from the service area to provide a response to your comments.

I wanted to let you know that we have seen your story and will respond further by Friday 12th September.

Regards

Janet

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Janet Bell, Head of Governance, West London Mental Health NHS Trust

Dear Me most of the time, We can’t go into individual details in this instance but we are happy to explore your comments further if you wish us to do so please contact us via the complaints department at West London Mental Health NHS Trust.

It is disappointing that your experience was not as you expected it to be and we are sorry that you feel the service let you down and that you are back to square one.

Please can we encourage you to either contact us or visit your GP.

Regards

Janet

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful