"Highly incapable and don't seem to take..."

About: Croydon University Hospital

I was submitted to the A&E after experiencing heavy pain in my chest radiating into my back, not being able to walk properly as pain intensified and it resulted in me not being able to breathe properly.

My partner and I spent 5 hours in there, where I got my blood taken and blood pressure measured - my heart and lungs had been checked earlier by the paramedics, which showed good results, so it had be something else.

The doctor finally showed up after three hours of nothing happening, asking me about my symptoms, just to tell me without even touching me, that it does not make sense for me to have that pain where I have it, and it should be okay with taking ibuprofen 5 times a day, which, as I told them, did not work for this case. I suspected a dislocated bone, as I experienced a similar pain once before when I had a dislocated bone, or an allergy to one of the heavy meds I was prescribed earlier this week. I told him about it, to which they again responded, that this is unlikely and I should just take ibuprofen, best with a few paracetamol in between - which I am allergic to. Again, this doctor said that this is unlikely for me to be allergic to that and looked at me in disbelief.

I really did not feel like they took me seriously and felt very very unwelcome there. I left with even worse pain than I got there with. I was not even thoroughly examined - well, not at all - and the doctor just ruled everything out without checking it.

I went to my local chiropractor today, and turned out, it was a dislocated bone, which they noticed immediately by merely touching my back. So no rocket science involved, but apparently too much for a doctor in the A&E to notice. Highly disappointing, waste of time and nerves!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

Dear Seirya

I am so sorry that you had a disappointing out come following your visit to A&E. Unfortunately, I cannot identify whether you were seen in our emergency department or in the urgent care centre, which is operated by VirginCare. I am happy to investigate further for you and should be grateful if you would contact me direct so that I can ensure your feedback is passed to the correct service. I do hope that you are now recovering well.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager - PALS & Complaints pals@croydonhealth.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful