"Some staff have no concept of treating patients..."

About: Charing Cross Hospital

I was very impressed with efficiency of the 3-week rule procedure which I was seen under. Unfortunately I found the urology doctors completely unprofessional around treating me with dignity and respect while performing intimate procedures, leaving me feeling humiliated and disrespected. One consultant brought someone in to watch a procedure and did not even bother ask my permission or say who this person was. Afterwards when I protested they dismissed my feelings completely. However, I found the urology specialist nurses very helpful and respectful. I was not involved much in decisions about my care, e.g. I was called in for further procedures, just after being told in the appointments that I did not need further intervention. When I phoned up to ask why, I was not given any explanation and was treated like I was just causing trouble. Even worse was treatment by some staff on the wards. Some were wonderful, helpful and respectful but I agree that some staff should really not be working there. I had a large catheter attached after surgery which was so painful I could barely tolerate it and I asked staff not to touch it unnecessarily or without warning me first. Some staff were sensitive about this but some were completely dismissive, including 1 nasty, rude, unprofessional healthcare assistant who caused me so much unnecessary pain for literally no reason and refused to stop despite my screaming in agony. They even went away laughing about it and denied that they hurt me. The nurse supervising them only intervened afterwards and not at the time, even though they heard me screaming. Thankfully the HCA was sent off the ward. I was so angry, upset and hurt, but when I complained to that nurse they just laughed at me to fob me off so I would not make a formal complaint. I could not cope with doing this just after surgery so I complained to the consultant in my next appointment, but once again my complaint was ignored. I was dismissed and was treated like I was just causing trouble. Another ward nurse was extremely rude and unprofessional to both my elderly mother and I. This nurse started arguing and shouting at us just because we asked for a wheelchair to take me off the ward to the car park because I was unable to walk by myself. I would not usually post complaints but if I had been treated properly in the first place, and my grievances dealt with appropriately when I raised them, I would not have to submit such a negative review now. I am also posting anonymously by virtue of how I was treated by some staff after complaining.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Charing Cross Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read your review of our Urology Service at Charing Cross and we sincerely apologise for the distress that has been caused. You have raised some very serious concerns with regard to the behaviour and attitudes of staff and this needs to be investigated as a matter of urgency. To facilitate this we hope you will contact our PALS service pals@imperial.nhs.uk so that we can take your details and address the issues you have reported. We look forward to hearing from you and have already passed your comments to service managers.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful