"Reception staff treated me like I was worthless"

About: Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital

So I rang up around midday, to ask when the contraception clinic was open. I'm currently at university and needed to know when I could collect my contraception, that fitted in with my timetable. I asked politely to speak to the family planning clinic. I got put through by a lovely person, but the phone was engaged so I was asked to call back. When I called back, the rudest person I have ever encountered spoke to me. They asked if I knew the extension number. I apologised and explained that I didn't, with which they replied 'how do you expect me to know then?' I was shocked, I asked to be put through again and they said 'I don't know the number.' I explained that I had been put through earlier, but I could just hear them mumbling about me to a colleague. They said 'the woman's not having it'. I then told them how poor it was for a receptionist not to know a number, and they told me they had been dealing with all the calls all day, to ring back at 3 and hang up. It was clear they had zero respect for me as a patient. I've now gone elsewhere to get my contraception, as they clearly assumed I was a no good teenager. If you choose a social job, you need to have social skills!! I'm appalled.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital

Hello, Many thanks for your review and please accept our sincere apologies for the way you were spoken to by the receptionist at Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital. Your feedback will be investigated further to prevent other patients being spoken to in such an unacceptable manner. We are really sorry to hear that you have had problems making an appointment at Sittingbourne Sexual Health Clinic and also that your experience has made you go elsewhere for your contraception. The Sexual Health Service provided by Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust runs on a Monday and Tuesday. We do have a central information line which you can call and make an appointment to be seen which is open Monday to Friday 9am-5pm. The number is 0300 790 0245. We have contacted the hospital switchboard and made sure that they have this information in case anyone rings to make an appointment at the sexual health clinic. Best wishes and apologies again Customer Care Team Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0300 123 1807 Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful