"Unsatisfactory Treatment"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Arrived by ambulance after a fall with extensive injury to my face; was escorted to the A&E waiting room where I had to present myself to reception. Sat for over one hour with paper towels pressed to my nose/mouth because of bleeding. Triage nurse told me to remove them; told me I was probably in shock; to take a seat in the waiting area to see the doctor; sat for over another two hours, still bleeding; junior doctor "examined" me. Only after I requested they clean my hand did they do so. Only after I requested x-rays of my face/mouth did they do so. Returning from x-ray and waiting another 15 minutes, the junior doctor said they were ordering another x-ray. This was a maxiofacial one; returning from this procedure I then waited another 45 minutes. All this time my upper lip was still bleeding.I was told the x-rays were fine, nothing broken/fractured. I told the doctor my front teeth were messed up and pushed back from the others.The senior doctor came in; said there was nothing wrong with my teeth;when I mentioned my lip was still bleeding, they glued it.Told me to take paracetamol for pain.Sent me home with no paperwork or followup instructions.I cannot eat because of my teeth not lining up properly.My nostrils are still blocked up with dried blood.I cannot breathe through my nose.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in replying to you. We are also very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We will share your comment with the Emergency Department. However, if you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.pals@nhs.net or in writing to PALS, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. PALS can discuss the best way that we can address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry to hear about this experience. We have responded to the original post on NHS Choices.

Please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.pals@nhs.net or in writing to PALS, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE.

Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust