"Access to the Hospital"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

(as a relative),

Took my wife to the Hospital recently for a 3. 15pm appointment.

The queue to get into the actual hospital started on the Uttoxeter Road and it took nearly 20 Minutes to get into the Hospital grounds and then another 15 minutes to get into a car park. I had the foresight to allow plenty of time get to the hospital which was just as well. Many patients who had not, either missed or were very late.

This is not a complaint about the treatment my wife received which in fact was excellent.

I do not know if this is a regular problem but people should be aware and make the necessary arrangements.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shaw Poxon, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Sir

Many thanks for your recent feedback posted on the Pation Opinion website regarding the car parking facilities at the Royal Derby Hospital. We endeavour to provide safe car parking spaces 24 hours a day. However at times, we do appreciate that the demand sometimes outweighs availability and spaces unfortunately cannot always be guaranteed. During our busiest times, Car parking staff will endeavour to keep the traffic moving around the hospital site to ensure congestion is kept to a minimum.

However, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused at the time of your visit and please accept our assurances that the car parking team will continue to deliver as a high standard of service as we possibly can.

Many thanks once again, for taking the time to provide us with this feedback and in the meantime, may we take the opportunity to offer you and your wife very best wishes for the future.

Kind regards

The Patient Experience Team for Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • JBDerby thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too