About: Tameside General Hospital

The doctors are rude, lack compassion, have absolutely no communication skills whatsoever and do not treat young vunerable disabled adults ( my son 18 with CP was admitted with breathing problems) with any respect or dignity what so ever. He was even placed on Demetia ward yet has no learning difficulty at all let alone old or confused. Most nurses were good but stretched beyond what is healthy for them or the patients. Basically they couldn't 'care' less!!! Never again will step foot in this place

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry that you have had to post these comments about your sons stay at the hospital.

We take patients comments very seriously and this is not the standard of care we expect from our staff.

I am concerned about this and I would like to investigate further.

If you would like this to happen please can I ask you contact Karen Fletcher in Pals and Complaints on 0161 922 4466

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful