"Admitted through a&e and care was unbelievable"

About: St George's Hospital (Tooting) (London)

My dad was admitted at the Addlington Ward with a serious illness and the care quality, behavior of some the the ward staff was to be honest with you rather poor. My dad informed me that the manner he is been treated when requesting help was one of disbelief. He was shouted at, waited for an awful long time when he needed help and his basic dignity was violated e.g. you call too much to ask to be taken to the toilet; even when they know he was registered blind, was very frail and needed help with mobility. Every day I visit him he was anxious to be discharged and coincidentally, I witnessed his experience on Saturday 25th of April. I reported it to the ward manager and the manner of their response gave me an indication that I need to report it to someone senior and will do that by the end of today..

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St George's Healthcare NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your experience at St. George’s Hospital. We are sorry to learn that it was not up to the standard we would expect for our patients and relatives. Your comment mentioned a ward we do not know, but we will pass your comments to our Gastrointestinal ward managers. If you would like to talk to the service about your experience and if you have not done so already, then please contact the PAL Service at pals@stgeorges.nhs.uk or on 020 8725 2453 where staff can put you in touch with the managers of the ward.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful