"Awful experience"

About: Manor Hospital

I had my baby here in October 2013. Nothing was explained to me during Labour about what was happening with my baby. She was in distress and had to have blood samples taken from her head before she was born. I'd had an epidural but I don't think it was topped up properly towards the end as I felt the strong urge to push. I ended up needing ventouse and ended up with a third degree tear. I went to theatre to be stitched up and I could feel the stitches which was horrendous. I told the surgeon and they said "don't worry I'm almost finished anyway" and there were 4 people in the room at the time all chatting and laughing amongst each other. Later when I went onto the ward, my baby was only having tiny bits of milk and I was told by a midwife to force it down her and if I couldn't then she would! I'm pregnant with my second now and needless to say I will not be going to the manor and I'm also petrified of giving birth again due to my experience there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manor Hospital

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't get the level of care that was expected at what must have been a frightening time. We'd appreciate it if you contacted our Patient Relations Team on 01922 656463 or email patientrelations@walsallhealthcare.nhs.uk so we can discuss your concerns further. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful