"Doctors never communicate with each other"

About: St James's University Hospital

Although nursing staff are caring and friendly, they can often be unaware of what procedure has just happened to patients. Consultants never read notes on the patient about previous problems. This leads to many differing opinions and lack of decisive action. Never the same consultant for out patients appointments either. Twice been offered pain killers but reacted to them in the past - the notes say that. wards are far too noisy for restful sleep. Staff respond to nurse button being pressed, but anything else, such as telling them your morphine drip has run out, gets no action for hours. Food ok and varied. Visiting hours sensible but it would be nice to have family member their when surgeon talks to you after op as you are so full of drugs you neither remember nor understand anything.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.

I was very sorry to read of the poor experiences you have described. To enable us to address them, please contact the Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) to discuss these issues in more detail so that we can arrange for the relevant Matron and Head of nursing to investigate the matters you have raised.

You can contact PALS on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively you can email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Once again thank you taking the time to post your views.

Kind regards

Rosie

Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

Response from St James's University Hospital

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. I was very sorry to read that you had a poor experience whilst in our care. It would be very helpful if you could contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) with more specific details of the problems you encountered, this would enable us to give valuable feedback to relevant staff and the opportunity to address the issues you have raised. You can contact PALS on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively you can email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net Once again thank you taking the time to post your views. Kind regards Rosie Senior Nurse Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful