"Poor"

About: University Hospital (Coventry)

After waiting on a 6 month waiting list to be seen by the maxillofacial department, I unfortunately had an evening appointment (about 18:30) The Doctor clearly did not want to be working that night as the Doctor never even bothered to examine me for acute jaw and sinus pain which had spread to my eyes and caused blindness in one eye. I asked to see another Doctor, to which the first Doctor adamantly dismissed. Worried about losing the sight in my other eye, I asked to see a doctor about this, again, disinterest to the point of negligence came the response. I was under the impression that patients had a right to a second opinion, and as under these circumstances it should hae been a given. Coventry Hospital refused to offer a second opinion, instead choosing to make me jump through hoops of writing letters, complaints and waiting for the response to these. No response ever came despite me chasing it up for 8 months now! The only response I have had (if you omit the terrible receptionists personal comments) is to go back to my GP and get referred all over again -this obviously will be another few months waiting! In short this hospital could not care less if patients suffer needlessly, go blind. My advice, if you are in pain, then go anywhere other than this terrible hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospital (Coventry)

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience with our Maxillo Facial department in August 2014. After reading your feedback it was clear that you have not received the level of care and compassion we expect from our staff so I would like apologise for this. I would also like to apologise that you have had to wait six months for your appointment, as we try hard to reduce waiting times for patients and evening appointments is one way of doing this. However I would urge you to please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 028 4203 with further details, so we can look into this further. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is feedback@uhcw.nhs.uk Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: - PALS University Hospital Clifford Bridge Road Coventry CV2 2DX If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Communications Team University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Telephone 0800 028 4203

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful