"Everything else has been good, but this one experience was frightening"

About: South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust / Emergency ambulance

(as a service user),

I call the ambulance service a lot as I have Parkinson’s disease – on the whole it’s good. However recently I had a fall and I was stuck in a wardrobe. I’m recovering from a broken hip and it’s very painful.

The ambulance service arrived and one of the paramedics in particular frightened the life out of me. He wasn’t kind and didn’t help me up from my fall. He told me to get up off the floor without helping me. He said if I didn’t move he would break the door. I told him to go away, and in the end his colleague helped me by pulling me out of the wardrobe.

Everything else has been good, but this one experience was frightening. I don’t want to see the same paramedic again.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Laura Martin, Patient Engagement Administrator, Governance, South Western Ambulance Service

picture of Laura Martin

Dear Noble929

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am so sorry to hear that you were frightened by a member of our staff.

Please could you contact our Patient Experience team on 01392 261585 or email patientexperience@swast.nhs.uk, at your convenience, so that the team can investigate this incident for you?

We really appreciate all feedback from our patients as it helps to inform and improve the services we offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we hear from you soon.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful