"Fracture Clinic - very poor treatment of patients"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

This Clinic requires an Audit. It is a long journey up from the outpatients entrance to this clinic when you are on crutches and a full leg plaster. There is no one around apart from workmen and staff rushing past. There are no chairs anywhere to stop and rest, or chairs to wait on for a taxi outside. The fracture clinic is understaffed. I wait for over 3 hours to be seen, am seen by a dr for 5 mins then sent to xray where I wait for another hour before going back to wait to be seen by the dr again, only to be told the same thing at each of the stages - it's broken. That is the only thing I am told - and this I already know from A&E 10 days prior. There is no communication given to the roomful of people waiting from the receptionists who look bored and in between desk enquiries watch tv on their desk monitors. One receptionist takes pity on me after the 2 1/2 hour mark and fills up my water bottle from the staff kitchen sink. The tv screen in the wait room has a 'no signlal' on it. There is no water, no possibility of a drink, no information, and then when you finally do get to see a consultant they are in a rush, do not give you any information. Trying to ask for help or information I was treated as though I was stupid, or with antagonism. I left with no instructions on how to care for my injury. The Dr did not ask about my levels of pain, my care of the injury, anything. I tried to ask about what the next stages of treatment would be but they were not interested in answering my questions. This doctor was halfway out of the room the whole time. People who are in here have broken bones and are generally in a state of shock. I have personally found it very difficult to cope with my injury, it is painful and does not seem to be healing. But I have no idea of what to expect. All of the staff need training on basic bedside empathetic manners, and the reception area needs to provide correct seating (somewhere to elevate broken legs) and provide basic services like water / cup of tea / information about wait times. I found the whole process to be completely traumatic and without any sense of care. The x-ray staff were the only ones who worked in a professional and reassuring manner, and who treated me with respect. I have no idea how to do post injury care and I dread having to go back to this place for another day of trauma.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experience in the fracture clinic at the MRI.

It is always our expectation that patients are communicated with appropriately and in a professional manner in order that you can be kept up to date with any delays in clinic, which do sometimes happen, and may consequently keep you waiting longer than expected. We would also expect that patients are kept informed at all stages of their treatment in clinic and the reasons for any investigations that are taking place, such as an x-ray, and we would like to apologise if the reasons for any of the investigations that you underwent in the fracture clinic were not adequately communicated to you at the time.

It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised regarding your consultation with the doctor in clinic without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experience in the fracture clinic at the MRI. It is always our expectation that patients are communicated with appropriately and in a professional manner in order that you can be kept up to date with any delays in clinic, which do sometimes happen, and may consequently keep you waiting longer than expected. We would also expect that patients are kept informed at all stages of their treatment in clinic and the reasons for any investigations that are taking place, such as an x-ray, and we would like to apologise if the reasons for any of the investigations that you underwent in the fracture clinic were not adequately communicated to you at the time. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised regarding your consultation with the doctor in clinic without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful