"Disappointed on A&E service"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Hospital, We have recently visited A&E department. Not that I can really complain on how long we needed to wait as this is normal. I do have to mention that once we were in doctors rooms next to where doctors have their desk we were inside there for over an hour. I am not surprised we are waiting to be seen so long, as it took one doctor over 30 min just to find empty room to get new patient in. I have told the doctor that my mother only needs bandages on her knee and if the doctor does that in less that 2 min they will have empty room, but of course not wiling to help as this is not their job. Seriously? So once we have left they told us that if she does not get better we have to visit Fracture clinic. In order to do that doctor has advised us to call Fracture clinic to book an appointment. I have learned today when I call them that I can not book an appointment and that needs to be done by A&E directly. I have called A&E today and they have told me that in order for them to book it we need to come to see them once again. Now on the top of everything we will need to go back to A&E wait for another 8 hours as we did last time in order to have this simple Fracture appointment booked. Ow-full service received and cant express how unhappy I am by the whole overview on the hospital. I hope my review would be seen by some patients and that they will be more careful when listening to the doctors who are not sure what they are doing. Not to mention how rude the Nurse/doctor on the desk was.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We were very sorry to read of how unhappy you were with our A&E service. As you can appreciate A&E departments are extremely busy environments and waiting times are dependent on how many patients require emergency treatment. If you feel your mother does need to be seen again and her symptoms are not life threatening then there is the option of using a Minor Injuries Unit, Urgent Care Centre (UCC) or Walk In Centre where the waiting times are usually much shorter. These are available in Gravesend, Erith and Sidcup plus a Walk in Centre in Northfleet. Regards The Communication Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful