"Distinct lack of communication"

About: Chorley & South Ribble Hospital

My Dad had surgery at Chorley hospital which went very well thanks to his consultant. The problems began when he woke to find he had been catheterised. This is apparently done to save the nurses time, I was told this by a social worker. My dad was discharged with the catheter still fitted, we were given 5 night bags and told that we just had to ring a number to get more. We managed to get crisis care for 3 days but because we had no prescription for them we had to buy more catheter bags. We were told he would have a TWOC on 5/3/15, he was discharged on 24/2/15 so I can't think what they imagined would happen once the crisis care ended!! We managed to get that extended to 7 days. He received an appointment for 10/03/15 (5 days late) for a TWOC. unfortunately it was left to me, his daughter, to travel10 miles before work to take his night bag off and then go back again after work to fit a new one. My Dad got a water infection and was taken to Blackpool Victoria hospital, his choice, where staff were disgusted at his treatment by Chorley. They immediately started him on antibiotics and removed the catheter, he is getting better and will never ever over my dead body be returning to Chorley hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rhona Hartley, Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your father's experience. We are obviously very concerned to read your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have raised in more detail. If you would be willing to do so, can I ask you to please contact me on 01772 522793.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Chorley & South Ribble Hospital

Thank you for telling us of your father's experience. We were extremely concerned to read your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail. If you would be willing to do so, can you please telephone our Customer Care Department on 01772 522521

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful