"Worst experience of my life that has left me..."

About: Queen Alexandra Hospital

I was a few weeks pregnant and was experiencing severe abdominal pain and bleeding. I went to A and E were i was treated with kindness and politeness , even my nurse was a lovely chatty person who made sure i was not concentrating too much on the pain. Everything changed when i got to Gynaecology. Firstly, the nurse on duty did not to seem to know what they were doing or care at all. i was left along in a room whilst i was waiting to be examined by the head of the department there. I waited for what seemed like a long time and they finally came and started to interview me. I told what was wrong and what my doctor had had told me. They disagreed with everything i said, claiming that it was not possible or not true, they even went further on to say that i was not in pain. All i could do was look a them in disbelief, considering that i was bent over in pain, having difficulty breathing and my face was swollen from crying. I was told to remove my underwear and was not even given something to cover myself with and i had to ask the nurse if i could have something to cover myself with. I was bleeding when i was being examined and the nurse could not hide their disgust at the sight of blood, of which i felt very ashamed. i was being roughly examined as if were a disgusting piece of meat by someone who was so convinced i was lying about being in pain. i started crying during the examination. By the time they were done, i felt so dirty, humiliated and worthless. I barely said a word to the nurse as i left, i could not believe how cold they were and yet be in a caring profession! I broke down as i left the hospital in the early hours of the morning. The only person who had shown me kindness after such a horrible experience was the cab driver from citywide who picked me up from the hospital. The experience has made me vow to go private, i know that i will be treated with more respect and the best possible care. I can not recall that day without crying. As i am writing this review, tears are streaming down my face. I hope no one will ever have to go though the same experience i did.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Alexandra Hospital

Thank you for spending the time to post your thoughts on Patient Opinion. It is views like yours that shape how we work as a dynamic healthcare provider. We are pleased to learn that the staff in the Emergency Department supported you and distracted you from the pain you were experiencing as this must have been such a difficult time for you. We are so sorry however, to learn that the staff within the Gynaecology Department disregarded your pain as this must have caused you such further distress and anxiety through an already difficult time for you. Please contact our PALS team at PHT.Pals@porthosp.nhs.uk or via their free phone on 0800 9176039 as we would like to look into this further for you. Once again, please accept our apologies for the distress you are currently experiencing as a result of your admission.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful