About: Manor Hospital

I was referred by my GP to be fitted with 24hr blood pressure monitor and in time got an appointment for3 rd March at 9-40am telling me to go to route 105. As it was an early time I had to get a taxi for which I paid £6 I showed my letter to the receptionist then sat in the waiting room for 3/4hr and was then told by a nurse the delay was because my referral letter wa not in my file and it had to be found before I could see a doctor. I sad I didn't think I needed to see a doctor just to get a BP monitor fitted .The nurse was very surprised and said I was in the Parkinson Disease clinic ! They were very apologetic but it wasn't their fault of course.I did mention it had been a waste of my taxi fare and the nurse did say I could request a refund but I declined .I now have to wait for a further appointment.Fortunately I am able bodied and can cope with this inconvenience but do wonder how such a basic mistake could happen.I worked in a GP's surgery long before computers were used and would have been devastated to cause problems to our patients by sheer incompetence whereas these days it appears to be looked at in a very casual way and the patient is just expected to "go home and wait for another appointment"

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manor Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your poor experience at the hospital. We always strive to offer the best service possible and on this occassion unfortunately it appears that we did not live up to your expectations. and would like to apologise for that. We are currently working to improve our Outpatient clinic experience and your feedback will be invaluable in helping us to improve this. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Relations Team on 01922 656463.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust


Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, we're sorry to read about the confusion regarding your referral. We'd like to opportunity to learn more about your specific experience at the Trust. When convenient, could you please contact our Patient Relations team on 01922 656463.


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful