"A&E waiting time"

About: Princess Royal University Hospital (Orpington)

In A&E for 18 hours. 16 hours on a trolley and 2 hours in a chair. I can not fault the A&E staff though, they all do an amazing job under very difficult conditions and the care received there was exceptional. However, doctors in certain other departments could learn a lot from the A&E staff in regards to treating patients with respect and kindness and actually listening to what the patient is trying to explain. I was told very conflicting information by several doctors during my 24 hour attendance at the PRUH, left thoroughly confused with no explanation and felt I was treated as a waste of time and a fraud which is not the case (this was not in A&E). May I suggest doctors introduce themselves by name and job title?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Princess Royal University Hospital

I am sorry to hear that after being in the hospital for so many hours you left feeling that there was no consensus among the medical teams regarding your symptoms and that you were made to feel guilty for your attendance. Your comments about the comunication skills of medical staff outside of the ED area will be fed back to our Medical Director and of course we do expect all staff to introduce themselves as you have described.