"Long delays and poor quality of service"

About: Royal Preston Hospital

I have visited the gastro department on several occasions over the last year and found the experience to be frustrating and even a little upsetting at times. While I am sure the medical staff are perfectly competent, it seems to me that they are rushed to the point of it negatively affecting the quality of care. Long delays have been the norm when visiting for scheduled appointments, and opportunities to have a proper conversation about my illness with anyone when I am seen, have been curt. This has left me feeling somewhat cast adrift and barely clued in as to what was going on with my own prognosis and treatment. It seems to me that nobody has the time to really talk to you, even if they wanted to. I can only hope whatever management or understaffing or funding issues, or whatever it may be that is resulting in such a poor service, are resolved soon. I'll be trying to move to another service myself in the meanwhile though. I find this extremely sad as I would have preferred to be treated here and still hold the medical staff in the highest regard, despite the current state of affairs. But I've pretty much reached my patience with it and will be quietly removing myself from the department's care and finding somewhere else. I won't be providing further details to the hospital as I could not officially complain about the NHS in good conscience. I doubt that would achieve very much in the long run, except wasting a whole lot of time and money better used elsewhere. However, I have found it disappointing enough to feel like I wish someone had given me this sort of warning before I made my mind up about where I was initally referred.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rhona Hartley, Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have shared your concerns with the Clinical Director for the Medical Directorate; however, we would welcome the opportunity to try to resolve the issues you have raised. If you would be happy to do so, can I ask you to please contact our PALS team on 01772 522972, who will be pleased to try to help.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Preston Hospital

Thank yuo for providing your feedback. We were concerned to read your comments and would welocme the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail and to try to resolve your concerns. If you would be happy to do so, can I ask you to please contact our PALS team on 01772 522972, who will be pleased to try to help.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful