"Urgent scan still waiting four weeks later!!"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

I have been waiting for a urgent ultra scan for four weeks requested by my consultant,numerous phone calls later,to eventually be told today I'm not even in the system for a ultra scan !! How can this happen? It appears a radiologist deemed it fit to change the scan request by my consultant to a MRI with out consulting either my consultant or myself. This appears to be a number crunching exercise to get me off the list as a routine scan is usually 4 weeks,a urgent scan one to two weeks,clearly the rd&e failed time scales and suddenly I'm not even on the system for a scan!! I have had to make telephone calls and argue with the staff,who talked to me like a simple person who mistook what was discuss between myself and my consultant. This has caused me great distress and four weeks on,still in pain with no test or treatment on the horizon. A patient shouldn't be put under this stress ringing one department after the other,it should have been dealt with internally but it seems different departments can't communicate with each other!! And if it wasn't for me ringing I'd still be sat waiting in ten years time as not on the system for ultra scan as I was told today! Four weeks! And still waiting,I fear for the elderly if this should happen to them! Utterly disgusting and I have made a complaint!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Peter Brain, Volunteer, Healthwatch Devon

Dear 'anonymous',

The comments and responses on the web-site of Patient Opinion are shared with us at Healthwatch.

This experience you describe was clearly unsatisfactory. Undoubtedly your consultant who requested the scan will be finding out just what went wrong. I hope the complaint you have registered leads to an improvement in the system to prevent others from going through what you have described. And of course we hope that your own treatment is resumed very soon.

More generally we are building a picture of the provision of services in Devon and these comments will help the NHS and other providers develop and improve their services.

If you wish to discuss any health or social care issues with us in confidence, including receiving advice or information about services please call 0800 520 0640, or email info@healthwatchdevon.co.uk or go on-line to www.healthwatchdevon.co.uk.

Yours sincerely

Peter Brain


Healthwatch Devon is the consumer champion for Health and Social Care in Devon.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital. I am sorry to hear of your concerns regarding the waiting time for an ultrasound scan. I note you have indicated you have made a complaint, and we will be in touch with you once we have received further information. If you have any queries in the meatime, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on (01392) 402093.