"Basic humanity and politeness"

About: Royal Edinburgh Hospital / Adolescent Psychiatry

(as a relative),

I am really interested in the 'Hello my name is...' campaign as the lack of introductions and common courtesy was a key point in my feedback to the YPU some 12 months ago.

During my daughters admission not one person introduced them self to me of their own accord or asked me if I wanted any information. On submitting 'feedback' I heard nothing until I chased this up via the NHS complaints system. I then received a phonecall from the Charge Nurse which felt productive. They listened to my views and said they were helpful and had responded by letter and would resend the letter - which I have still not received. So left believing they did not really listen.

I have since heard a number of other people talk about similar situations in relation to their health care experiences in this and other Health Boards. Although I think the campaign is in essence a good thing I am struggling to understand how in this day and age we have to make a point to teach health care professionals about the importance of introducing themselves to families. I really cannot believe that in 2015 healthcare professionals need a campaign to do what is basic humanity and politeness!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Customer Relations and Feedback Team, NHS Lothian

Dear Feedback is important

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback as your title states it is very important to us. I am sorry you have not received the letter you were promised. If you would like to contact the Customer Relations and Feedback Team again we can follow this up on your behalf.

NHS Lothian is encouraging all employees to ensure they introduce themselves to patients and families so I am hopeful that if you visit any of the hospitals within NHS Lothian in the near future you will find an improvement.