"Unlabelled blood tubes"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary / General medicine

(as the patient),

I went to the hospital to have some bloods taken after recent symptoms. I had the bloods taken in outpatients, and left the necessary forms with the phlebotomists.

When I rang up for the blood results, the blood vials had not been labelled, and so consequently, pathology didn't know whose bloods they were - a morning taken off work wasted, and now I have to go to have them repeated! Very frustrating and delaying the process.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your experiences in the out patient department.

When taking blood samples from patients all staff are expected to follow the Trust’s policy and this includes very clear guidelines on the correct labelling of all blood samples. The Transfusion Laboratory also monitors the labelling of samples and request forms. An audit of compliance with the Specimen Acceptance Policy is then provided to the Trust Hospital Transfusion Committee at regular intervals. Education and training sessions highlight specimen labelling errors and incidents.

We must apologise that your experience has clearly fallen below the standard we would expect and for the inconvenience that this has caused you. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they can take your specific details and we will look into why this error occured.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust