"staff training"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

when I got out of bed to go for surgery on my broken wrist the nurse did nothing after finding blood all over my sheets . I was alarmed and started to look for the reason for all the blood. I found an open puncture wound on my leg which had been missed from the day before after I had fallen out of the loft hence the injury. A plaster was quickly applied without cleaning the wound as I was on my way to the theater. On my return I asked twice for the wound to be cleaned and looked at as my father had died of MRSA, but this did not happen and I was also sent to theater with nail polish still on my hands and toes. when I got home my neighbour who is a district nurse said the wound was infected and should have had a stitch in it. My surgeon on the other hand did a brilliant job - thanks I need a knee replacement and I am very nervous about this

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Sir / madam, Many thanks for bringing this to our attention. I am so sorry that you have had cause to question the quality and safety of your care. I would really like to understand more about exactly what happened whilst you were on hospital. For two reasons really - the first to help us learn where we need to be better but also, more importantly, because I want you to feel confident about coming back for your knee replacement. Would you mind sending me your details directly so that I can ensure you receive an appropriate response to your concerns ? My email is Annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk With best wishes, Annie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful