"This is not the first time my bloods have not been tested correctly"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Urology

(as the patient),

I was referred by my GP to Tameside hospital for low testosterone in August 2014 with all the symptoms of low testosterone; - hot and cold sweats terrible erratic mood swings, feeling tired all the time and urinary problems. It took over 4 months to receive an appointment with Urology. At the appointment on in December I was told my testosterone was low and they would do further blood tests which were taken on the day.

I then received a letter on in December from the Urology Dept

Stating they were unable to find any testosterone results on my blood test and they would repeat the tests again.

I received a further letter on the 2 weeks later in December stating unfortunately the testosterone test was not performed and it is actually better to have the test in the morning and they will ask my GP to test me.

What they seem to forget is all my blood results from my GP go off to Tameside hospital anyway and it was my GP who referred me to them in the first place.

I do not see why when I have been referred once by my GP to Tameside with low testosterone, the Urology dept is suggesting that I start the whole process again with the inevitable delays, because they are unable to do a simple blood test at the correct time of day and then act on the results. As it seems to be common knowledge that testosterone tests should be taken first thing in the morning, why is it that Your Urology Dept do not seem to know that and sent me for blood tests late in the morning, and then appear not to have done the prescribed test! It would appear that having done nothing to solve my problem the approach is to close the case and refer it back to my GP for someone else to sort out!

Meanwhile I am still waiting for treatment for low testosterone.

Why Oh why? This is not the first time my bloods have not been tested correctly; tests missed or messed up at Tameside hospital.

I would like the executive officers and senior management to explain to me why there does not seem to be any accountability at Tameside Hospital and why I am not getting the correct treatment for what my GP referred me to in the first place!

I am going to send a copy of my concerns to my MP.If this is not resolved I will put in an official complaint to my local CCG, NHS England and the parliamentary and health ombudsman

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

On behalf of Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust I would like to extend my sincere apologies. Without having the personal details it is difficult to comment. I would like this to be investigated in more detail.

Please can I request you contact Gregory Motler Head of Pals and Complaints on 0161 922 4771 or email gregory.motler@tgh.nhs.uk so that we can investigate and resolve these issues.

Once again please accept my apologies

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Many thanks for contacting the PALS and Complaints team. I understand that the issues you have raised have been addressed. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

  • correctus8 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Response from Peter Denton, Healthwatch Manager, Healthwatch Tameside

Thanks for the update.

As the consumer champion for health and care services we are always pleased to see responses that indicate that a patients' concerns have been addressed, hopefully to the satisfaction of all concerned.

  • correctus8 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Update posted by correctus8 (the patient)

The situation has still not been resolved! I am told now I will not be able to see the urology consultant until the beginning of march now! As he floats between hospitals and only comes to Tameside hospital once a month. Maybe this is why I only get to see none interested locums who seem uninterested and don't seem to listen to me. Don't seem to read patient notes in full! And don't seem to get letters from GPs and other consultants from other hospitals When they have clearly been sent weeks ago! What a extremely poor service Tameside is providing! There is no continuity or accountability!

Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

I understand from Mr Gregory Motler Head of Pals & Complaints that on appointment has been arranged for you. Should you have not received written confirmation please contact Gregory Motler directly on 0161 922 4771.

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • correctus8 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Response from Peter Denton, Healthwatch Manager, Healthwatch Tameside

We're sorry to hear that the resolution offered by the hospital doesn't meet your expectations. If you are not able to resolve this informally with the hospital, Healthwatch may be able to help you through the formal complaints process.

These is information about this service on our website at: http://www.healthwatchtameside.co.uk/nhs-complaints or you can phone 0161 667 2526 (Monday to Wednesday) and ask for Karen on our team who will be happy to talk to you about the help we can offer.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by correctus8 (the patient)

Not satisfied with the lack of response from Tameside hospital decided to get a second opinion at wythenshaw hospital! Where I was seen right away offered a set of blood tests and a pet scan and eventually I had to have a set of biopsy's upon which I was diagnosed with cancer. Now after 4 chemotherapy's and more to come, I would like Tameside hospital answer some questions about my poor treatment and the lack of professionalism I encountered. I feel very let down by Tameside hospital. If I had let this carry on without a second opinion I would have cancer and not even know it! I will be writing to the health secretary, Jeremy hunt.

Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry you were not happy with your treatment at the Trust.

Please can I request you contact our Pals and Complaints department on 0161 922 4466 or email Palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk so that we can look into and investigate your concerns.

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful