"Generally good."

About: St Mary's Hospital

Had mostly a very good experience during maternity care. Very helpful and caring staff at the maternity unit including all of the midwives, doctors and support staff. Only one of instance where I was disappointed the service. This was when I spoke to a highly condescending staff member on the telephone regarding a referral that had been made for me. She did not introduce herself and used my first name without permission. I wouldn't have minded being called by my first name if she hadn't talked down to me as if I was a child. I just hope that that this feedback gets back to some of the staff at the PAS so that they can review their phone manner.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It was pleasing to hear that you had a very positive experience of our maternity services, but that in relation to the appointment process, you were left disappointed and were spoken to in a condescending manner. I would like to assure you that your comments both positive and negative have been shared with the relevant team leaders, who will ensure that this is shared with all staff to enable lessons to be learnt from this. May I take this opportunity to wish you well for 2015.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful