"AE 23.12.14"

About: Warwick Hospital

Admitted 7.15pm waiting for a bed until 12.30 pm we were told the reason for this wait was there was no available porters. After over four hours of waiting two very busy nurses had to move the bed into Fairfax ward, however when turning into the ward five porters were sat in the corridor eating chocolates. On approach they began laughing and swearing, which is very unprofessional in a hospital environment. This meant my very ill elderly father was left waiting for a bed for a unnecessary amount of time, while hospital employees were having a jolly. This is completely unacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Warwick Hospital

We have investigated with all staff on duty on the 23rd December 2014 and apologise for the time taken to move your father to the ward. We have a dedicated porter for the A&E department during our busiest hours (2.30pm to 11.30pm) however there are times when it is so busy that this is not sufficient and the department call for additional support. There should be a response within 15 minutes of the call. We have checked our tracking system but there does not appear to have been any request made for additional support that evening. We will look into this further to see why this was the case. During the current busy period we have further increased the scheduled level of porter support for A&E. To ensure quick access to support services such as porters and cleaning teams, the central area near Fairfax ward is used as a base for a range of staff during certain shifts. We have confirmed that at this time staff from a number of different teams were taking their break. We have passed on your comments about the behaviour of staff especially when they take their breaks in such a public area.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful