"orhthodontics department"

About: Conquest Hospital

Turned up for my 9year old daughters appointment and was told orthodontist was ill.When i rang the orthodontic department when home was told they rang my daugters mother who is a teacher so doesnt have her phone on while teaching, but is not a policy to ring the father even though they had my number.It taken 3months to get this appointment and pulled my daughter out of scool for the afternoon.Is this how to treat a 9 year old girl who as any parent will no is a big deal and was very upset.Awfull communication.just hope the treatment is better than trained than the reception staff

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Conquest Hospital

Dear Mr Anonymous We apologise that you arrived for an Orthodontic appointment with your 9 year old daughter only to find that it had been cancelled due to sickness. The Outpatient Reception Manager has confirmed that we do endeavour to make contact with a parent (or carer) by telephone when a clinic is cancelled at very short notice, due to circumstances beyond our control. However, we would be very happy to look into why this did not happen in your daughters case. In order for us to do this, we would require some further information from you. If you would like to provide further information, please contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 01424 758090 or by email at: PALSH@esht.nhs.uk. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you suffered and for your daughters distress.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful